Should I upgrade from canon 18-55 iii kit to Tamron 17-50 (non VC)

frankhoekzema

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been shooting with a Canon DSLR 1100D for a couple of months now and I have been getting great reactions. I recently added the 55-250 is lens to the 18-55 iii kit lens and that's been a lot of fun. What I have noticed is that I am not liking the kit lens. I have had the chance to shoot with a 15-85 and that was a LOT sharper on all shots. Now I can't spend that kind of money on another lens but I have a chance to pick up the non VC Tamron 17-50 lens for 200 euros. I am wondering if I should go ahead and do this or if I should save up big bucks for a Canon 17-55? The 200 euros includes a b&w uv filter so I thought it was a pretty good deal...Any opinions?

I think the tamron will be good for you. The 18-55 3 wasn't a very good lens. The tamron is a huge step up and rated almost as good as the canon 17-55 for resolution.

The Tamron is a good substitute for the Canon 17-55 with a lot smaller price tag. The only you would want to look at is the sharpness. With any lens some are bad copies and some are good. If you can shoot some pictures with it before purchasing, do a few shots from f2.8 and then go from there.

The only doubt I have is that I really only use the 17-24 end at the moment. I have the 50mm 1.8 which is great for most stuff and I really want another lens for the wide end. Problem is that seems to be the poor end on the Tamron?