simple point n shoot or DSLR?

dancerxot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
for the past few years i've been using a cheap samsung s630 for pictures of friends and exploring my interest in photography; now i'm planning to apply to college for photography. needless to say, i need to upgrade my camera. the noise on my camera is ridiculous, and i'd like to submit the best quality pictures i can. i have about two years til i'm off to college, should i upgrade to a better quality point and shoot or get a mid-grade DSLR that will last a little longer?

i'm definitely open for suggestions: i want something versatile (as a student i'll be shooting a variety of subjects), sturdy, not huge (small hands lol), with a good quality/price ratio.

i used to be strictly nikon fan, but i'll take any suggestions.
thank you! ;)

Welcome to the forum.

The main problem with 99.9% of 'point & shoot' style cameras, is that they have a tiny little sensor...which is mainly why the produce noisy images. So I suggest you look for a DSLR that you can learn and grow with.

Well Im in the Dslr camp as well. You will get better performance and, more versatility, especially as you aquire better glass. Which glass is the only draw back, it will devour large sums of money. When looking for a Dslr go to the store and, hold the various models in your hands and, see which fits best for you.

woah, the quick replys! i went to the store and handled a nikon d60, and it was great. i don't want to be cyber-stoned for asking which brand/camera/dslr i should buy so i'll hit the search boxes and google and see what i can find.

thanks! (suggestions are still open though ;) )