sm4him

In memoriam
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
sm4him.500px.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Been too busy to get much posted lately, but I've shot about three soccer games since the last time I posted for C&C--AND I bought a 70-300 to use instead of my 55-300. It's no f/2.8, but I've been pleasantly surprised at the difference it's made. Can't wait till I can afford that f/2.8 lens--in a year or two :lol:

Anyway, photos. (For those who haven't seen my other threads, I'm new at sports photography, and started doing it to get photos of my niece playing). C&C welcome on all.

Every game I've shot, I've slowly upped my ISO, and every time it's not really been enough. I have a mental block about upping my ISO too much. :D
Finally, the last regular season game, I just went for it. Set my shutter speed to 1/500, aperture wide open (which generally meant 5.6), and then just upped the ISO until the meter was happy. Result: NOISY. NOISY. NOISY. I know, you can deal with noise in post. Only I don't really know quite how to do it and get good results. I'll have to work on that.

So, these first two are really noisy, but I did at least get some decent action, I think:

Game 1, Photo 1.

West_v_CAK_0393web by sm4him, on Flickr

Game 1, Photo 2.

West_v_CAK_0394web by sm4him, on Flickr

Then came the first playoff game--on a Saturday. At 11 a.m.! I was so excited about getting to shoot in the daylight! :lol: This was where I started to really see a difference with the 70-300 lens. Unfortunately, I got so wrapped up in the game sometimes that I forgot to SHOOT--especially when my niece scored the WINNING goal of the game!!!

Still, I think I did reasonably decent, considering I'm still trying to get this sports thing figured out.

Game 2, Photo 1.

West_v_Maryville_0267web by sm4him, on Flickr

Game 2, Photo 2.

West_v_Maryville_0308web by sm4him, on Flickr

Game 2, Photo 3

West_v_Maryville_0369web by sm4him, on Flickr