Soft water

graigdavis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
It was cold and cloudy. I have been waiting for a cloudy day to go try my hand at getting soft water. I was using a UV and Polarizing filter at first. I couldnt get the shutter quite as slow as I wanted. So I threw on my Red filter too. I was able to shoot at 1/4-1/8 shutter and f8, ISO 200. The contrast was pretty bad on them though. So for the first time ever I photoshoped my pictures. :?

These were more just experimenting. But what filter do I need so I dont have to stack 3 filters to get these results?

46722316.jpg

46722301.jpg

I really like them, especially the first.

I think the filter you need is called a Nuteral Desity filter. It alows you to slow down the shutter speed. But I'm no expert so don't take my word for it.

man oh man, you are talented, dude. #1 is outstanding- great composition: driftwood draws eye into the falls, photo is nice and crisp, and contrast is great, ps or no.

#2 could use some work- although composition is the only thing off here. could you bring the right crop line farther out, so you get the whole shape of the underpass in the photo?

as for filters, i too need some instruction here. anyone know a link to a good tutorial on filters?

how about stopping way down to slow your shutter speed? any reason you did not go smaller than f8?

Osmer_Toby said:
man oh man, you are talented, dude. #1 is outstanding- great composition: driftwood draws eye into the falls, photo is nice and crisp, and contrast is great, ps or no.

#2 could use some work- although composition is the only thing off here. could you bring the right crop line farther out, so you get the whole shape of the underpass in the photo?

as for filters, i too need some instruction here. anyone know a link to a good tutorial on filters?

how about stopping way down to slow your shutter speed? any reason you did not go smaller than f8?

Thanks man :D