The Ring

NoelNTexas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Why does this photo look so strange?

thering.jpg

the composition looks off to me. an otherwise great photo.is that the original?

yes, this image has not been photoshopped or altered at all yet

well im still new to this but i know a little bit about composition from my husband (who refuses to teach me anything else lol) I am not really sure how I would crop that either... but im thinking that is what it needs...

Because the ring is standing vertically, the cropping needs to be of a similar nature or you run into an issue not unlike a vertical shot of a sunset. Not necessarily wrong, but doesn't look quite right. I like the DOF, but maybe it'd look better if the entire ring was in focus and not just the part closest. I do like the soft background though, and the lighting is quite nice.

I think part of the problem may be that the lens seems to be focused on the far part of the ring, when my eye wants to focus on the near part of the ring. It's a nice artistic touch, but it may be against what the eye wants to focus on, giving a little bit of a "strange" sense. I think if the focus was on the front part of the ring, and if the picture was cropped vertically (more tall than wide), it would be a very nice picture.

(I'm just a beginner, so take my comments with a grain of salt).

Hi to all our newcomers, Noel, JustAMom and GMarquez, welcome to ThePhotoForum!

Thanks your for submitting a photo - and right into Photo Critique, that shows some courage. For although Photo Critique is part of our "Foundations of Photography"-chapter, this is the forum for the most serious critique in which both original poster as well as members who reply should go a lot more in depth about the photo in question than in our galleries below.