TLR starter kit

Jus7 A Phas3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I've been looking into getting a TLR camera for quite some time not and I was lookong ebay and thought this is some good stuff start with

To start off

The camera: http://cgi.ebay.com/KODAK-VINTAGE-R...ryZ11721QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

The Film: http://cgi.ebay.com/10-x-Lucky-SHD1...oryZ4204QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

and the light meter: http://cgi.ebay.com/WESTON-MASTER-I...ryZ88670QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Would this be a good started kit or would you recomend something else? Im on a tight budget.

Thanks for your help.

-Mike

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Someone help me out.

That's a 620 camera, not a 120. Maybe it would be better to start off with a camera that took 120 film. It may be dificult to get a decent Yashica Mat for that price, but Seagulls go for around $50. I have no experience of the Seagull, so it might be worth doing a Google and getting some opinions.

That Lucky film isn't fantastic - it has character, however. Its anti-halation layer isn't very good, so bright objects have a halo around them. I bought 20 rolls as a trial, and didn't use them all. If I still have them you can have them. You can get Arista EDU film from Freestyle (www.freestylephoto.biz) for about the same price.

If the photocell in that Weston is still functional $10 doesn't seem too bad a price, but I have no experience of that particular meter.

Keep your eyes out for a nice Yashicamat. Working cameras are going cheap... about $100. Many need some maintenance but those can be bought for under $50.

The other great professioanl camera selling for very reasonable prices are the Mamiya C330 TLRs. These are still getting good money but with the buid quality of these cameras you'll be getting your money worth. Lenses are interchangeable and all are top quality glass.