To keep or to return (Lens v. Flash)

Su593ct

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all, i had a quick question regarding the better product for me at the moment. I am new to photography, picked it up as a hobby of sorts to pass the time. Recently, i was given a canon 60d kit as a gift; came with the 18-135mm lens. Since then, i purchased a 50mm 1.8 and a 55-250mm(on sale for about $140). I simply like to shoot family/friend gatherings/events, vacation pictures or anything i would randomly find interesting (building, flower etc...)

My question is this, should i keep the 55-250mm lens or replace it with a hot shoe flash? I was considering purchasing the 430ex ii. Or should i keep the lens and purchase the flash somewhere down the line? I know i will eventually use the lens, but currently not sure how often or if i should hold off for a better telephoto lens like the 70-300mm lens.

From what i have read/been told a external flash makes a big difference to photos and the overall experience while shooting (down time from on board flash, no ability to bounce light etc.)

Thanks in advance!

It really depends a lot on your own situation as to which is the best choice to make.

On the one hand a 55-250mm gives you a selection of longer focal lengths, which whilst maybe not high quality, does at least give you a range of focal lengths to experiment with. That can be a big boon for helping decide on if you want to invest more in a longer lens.

On the other hand a 430EXII flash is a good quality flash unit that will likely retain use through years/decades of photography. Not as heavy as the 580 series flashes and still got a fine range of features that will suit many photography situations.

If you feel that you're going to be shooting a lot indoors and also that you don't feel the need presently for the longer ranged lens then the flash would well be a suitable option to go for.