Wanting to do Portraits

Mgw189

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been playing around now for about three years with photography. Mostly concentrating on landscape and artistic type things. I dont have much for portraiture work although I am looking to change that in the near future. It will be a slow process however.

Equipment wise I have

Sony Alpha A100
Kit 18-70
70-300 5.6
Cheapo slave flash
I have various work lights clamp lights and a big 500w halogen light.

Want list
New body
Speed light
50mm f1.7
lighting
reflector
Backgrounds

I did one shoot this summer for my step daughters prom below are some of the better results. I would really like some input from the more experienced people as far as sites you have used or found useful or any equipment that I dont have listed that you would say is a priority.

2557804592_18ff1b4827_b.jpg

#1 A foreign exchange couple that was here last year.
What I see wrong is the dark areas on here face I am thinking a reflector would have helped with this.

2557815212_55175a1c1f_b.jpg

My step daughter.
What I see. The lighting is a little harsh, HER POSE, facial expressions, her hair and bra oh and that little branch growing out of her head which is easy enough to PP out.

2561251510_d406b7ea13_b.jpg

Most happy with this shot of my step daughter and her date.
What I see. Her eyes are a little darker than I would like them to be. A reflector to help with that?

I hear ya! i've been a professional wedding/lifestyle photographer for two years now and I just buy the cheap digital concept flashes and use them as slaves for fill flash. it works, just bought me a new one for $30 for an upcoming model shoot. hey, $30-50 on cheap flashes every two years isn't bad... and they actually work (surprising for the cost)

here's the link