Went out shooting last night, light streaming, down town, waterfront

mitsugirly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was bored and back when I first got my camera in January, it was freezing and snowing. I couldn't wait until summer to go out on a nice night to shoot.

Well, I'm just now getting around to it.
biggrin.gif

Here's a couple of the pics from last night.

The conservatory lit up at night. It is suppose to change colors...but didn't when I was taking a picture...maybe because as soon as I got there a guy came running out with a megaphone saying "the park is closed, the park is closed". I yelled back that I was a photographer just trying to take a picture (because I know a bunch of photog's have done it and posted them on flikr). By the time I took about 5 pictures and we were driving off their were guys in SUITS running across the field. Security? IDK...it was like a movie scene or something. Very strange!

3709717921_869c30d1a1.jpg

There are a bunch of concrete blocks lined up and down the waterfront with 2 fountains shooting water out of them on each. I parked the suv behind the water and used the concrete to stable the camera (trying to keep the water from splashing all over it) and shot into the water using a long exposure. The star light you see in the middle of it is my headlight. I wish I could have pulled back further to capture the top of the water in it. I'll have to try this again some time in the future.

3709717159_10bdf42e3d.jpg

This is downtown on the waterfront at night. I was practicing my long exposure and trying to get the reflection off the waterfront. I wasn't taking into consideration the rule of thirds...so don't yell at me. lol

3710527744_0044327028.jpg

Another down town building that has been lit up red, white and blue since the 4th of July. I believe they light it up different colors at different times of the year. When I first photographed it in the winter, it was white.