Went to the park and snapped some skateboarders....

RussJasper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
You know what to do... give them a click and view the large size.

C&C appreciated. I think I should have used a faster shutter speed

skateboarding is my favorite thing to shoot.. i shoot it nearly every day.. some thoughts from me..

#1 - you cut off his hand
#2 - would be better if you were on the other side of him..
#3 - boring
#4 - not bad..
#5 - you cut off a lot of his head and is arms..
#6 - your to far away...

quick tip on skate shots.. personally i believe the key is getting low and getting close.. this is where a fish eye comes in handy..

i agree with everything above, you need to get in on the action and shoot either with a strobe or really fast shutter speeds... i've been skateboarding for a couple of years now so if u want crisp and photogenic shots tell them to either to flips (kickflips, heelflips or 360 flips) or grind/slide a ledge.. other tricks aren't so photogenic and look weird when shot.. try to get as low as possible to give the "high" feeling to it..

See, i agree with what you guys are saying but it was all kinda random and i didn't know these guys so i didn't feel as if i could get up close and all in their way. so i just sat back with my zoom lens. i'll see if i can do some better ones in the future.

I thought that the third and sixth photos were your best ones. I liked the detail shot in the third one, and in the sixth photo, the onlooker adds to the shot. If there were more interesting lighting, the shots would be stronger, but this afternoon type lighting keeps the shadows from revealing much.