What is the best monitor these days?

ToddSmith

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been using a Sony Artisan monitor for the past five years and I swear by it. Unfortunately, I've logged over 12,000 hours on it and I know it's not going to last forever.

Does anyone know what is the most reliable monitor for color these days? I'm especially interested in something portable so I can tweak pictures when I travel.

Thanks,
Todd

Do u want the best is color on a CRT or do u want an LCD monitor?

For portability I would love LCD, but I'm not sure if the quality is a good as CRT (especially w/ regard to contrast). Any thoughts? With my current Sony Artisan (CRT) I can calibrate it so that it basically looks exactly how it will print. I depend on that kind of quality.

Thanks,
Todd

Welcome to the forum.

For the most accurate & reliable color, you will want a monitor with it's own LUT (look up table)...this way, the monitor does the calibration, rather than the video card.

A photographer I know, researched this a lot and recommends the NEC 90 series monitors with the Spectraview calibration package.

This can be expensive...many people are content to just use a regular monitor and a 3rd party calibration device like the Colorvision Spyder.

Thanks, Mike.

I've heard good things about the NEC 90 series too. I think it was on Luminous Landscape. I haven't heard of Spectraview... will check it out.

Does anyone know how the Wacom monitor does for color?

Todd

Which is the NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK with a iOne Display 2 Colorimeter + NEC's own very very good SpectraView calibration package.

I have a 2690 myself, and it was the best money I ever spent. No it's not the best monitor on the market, but it is far better than any CRT I have used (not for games) and a heck of a lot cheaper than some of the true legends of colour.