WHAT TYPE OF PAPER?? do you use

jemmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi guys. My girlfriend came to view the portraits that i took of her kiddies (posted - 2nd Paid Portrait Session) yesterday and she was "thrilled" with them all.... So she has put in her order and i have a wee dilemma....
I have worked out a price list based on individual images/sizes...
eg.. 5 x 7" $12.50,,,, 8 x 10" $25.... My prices are definitely a lot cheaper than most photographers that i have looked in to, which is what i want. Im first to admit that im just starting out and still have lots to learn but i am at the stage where i feel comfortable selling my work... Plus i have loads of friends and family lining up for shoots and thought i may aswell make a few dollars out of it. Anyway, wanted to ask you all a few questions..
#1.. Do you print your own pictures or have them printed elsewhere... and if so, where? Im in QLD australia..
#2.. What type of paper do you use?
#3.. If you feel like sharing ( but i understand if you dont:blushing: ) what prices do you charge for prints?
#4.. What kind of mark-up do you put on your photographs for selling?
So, basically i was told that Fuji Crystal Archive paper is of an excellent quality and that it lasts really well? I previously have always had my photos developed at Rabbit Photo (where i know the girls well) and have always been happy with the results on the Fuji paper... I just dont know where 'photographers' get theirs printed and if they get better results from somewhere else... Another bigger photographic store uses Kodak paper but i have heard not so good stories about this paper? Does anyone know anything about paper choice and processors??? I want to give my clients the best possible photographs and would like to be able to say "these prints will last for x amount of years" ... xx Eager to hear back so i can decide where to go!! :heart: thanks heaps xx