Where to start??

DanielleGoodPhotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Nikon D60 with 18-55mm & 55-200mm lenses. I use a Mac, so I have iPhoto for basic editing. Funds are extremely low right now, but I want to start working towards what I need. What did you find was most helpful to have when you were first starting out? What couldn't you live without? Basically, where in the world do I start!?!
My main focus will be infant/children, family photography and occasional senior pictures in natural outdoor environments. Thanks so much!

I'm new to it all too and others have told me that for portraits a good fixed lense like the 50mm f/1.8 is a good one. Only thing is with that you have to shoot manually with a D60. I'm waiting on mine to come in. It's only around like $125.

Although I just got a DSLR, the camera I had before it, I had to buy a circular polarizer. I shot a lot of pictures of cars though. A tripod is always a good addition as well for low light or long exposure pictures.

Really though, go out, shoot, and have fun. You should have enough lens there to last you awhile!

I think one of the best investments you could make is to do a bit of research and find out how to make some light modifiers, like large,rectangular (NOT circular!) reflector panels using PVC pipes and fabrics in white, silver lame,and also transparent white fabrics for softening and diffusing natural light or electronic flash. Common words are panel, reflector, scrim, and reflector panel--they all are referring to a frame which has a fabric fitted to it, to either reflect light, subtract light, or to diffuse light. "Scrim lighting" is remarkably versatile,and is an entire discipline unto itself. Simple, and incredibly versatile and variable and suitable for many situations,and actually pretty inexpensive compared to larger softboxes,etc.