Zoom Lens for T2i

Discussion in 'Canon Cameras' started by wolverines, Apr 2, 2012.

1. wolverines

wolverines TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello,
    I'm a newbie to the forum. I purchased a T2i a few months ago and have enjoyed it so far. I'm looking at purchasing a new lens and need some advice. I'm photographing wildlife and am currently using a 55-200 mm. I was thinking about the 100-400mm but am up for all advice and opinions. Most of my subjects have been in th 20 - 70 yd range.
    Thanks

2. beagle100

beagle100 Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    the old original 100-400 is good, the newer Sigma 150-600 is better as well as the 100-400 V2

[​IMG]Untitled by c w, on Flickr

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. TCampbell

TCampbell Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Sigma makes the 150-600mm zoom in a "C" (classic) and "S" (sport) version. The "sport" is their highest quality glass. In side-by-side comparisons, I do notice the "S" has slightly better detail resolving capability... but I'm not so sure that the difference is so great that it would be obvious to most observers without taking a magnifier to the image.

Tamron also makes a 150-600mm lens. Quality-wise it seems to be more compatible to the Sigma "C" version. And in the images I saw, it looked like the Sigma was a tiny bit better than the Tamron.