24-70mm problem (maybe?)

dom yo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Alright here goes the short story.

As of right now, I am mainly a nightlife photographer that shoots with a Canon 7D. I go out to different clubs and bars and take pictures of patrons having a good time. I pretty much live in low light situations. So any responses telling me to manually focus the lens are not going to help me at all as it is near impossible to do with such low light.

Back in July, I purchased the 24-70mm 2.8f L series lens. Beautiful, beautiful lens. About a month ago, I noticed it was having a really hard time focusing in. It would work half way okay in better light but it was still not up to par to an L series lens. I tried cleaning the contacts and that did nothing. I then noticed, when I moved the focus ring all the way to "macro", it wouldn't even budge or attempt to focus. If I moved it all the way to "infinity", it would do better, but still really slow. A lot of times it would get so close to focusing and then it would just give up. So, to make sure it was the lens and not the camera, I first put my old Tamron 17-50mm 2.8f on my 7D and tried to focus. Well, that wasn't a really good test because the Tamron is just a super slow focusing lens anyways, but it would focus a lot more frequently than the 24-70mm. I then put the 24-70mm on my old Rebel XTI, it produced the same problem thus telling me that it was the lens.