Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Current stable includes:

5D MK3
24-105 L F4.0
70-200 L IS F 2.8

I'm looking to add a prime tele to the kit for sports ( Football / Soccer / Baseball / Softball )

I like the idea of the 300 because it's an F 4.0 but, the 400 5.6 gets great image reviews. As far as the added loss of light that comes with the 400 is concerned the high ISO image quality of my 5D MK3 should cover that nicely. My question for the group is, will the added 100 mm over my 70-200 be enough or would I better served with the 400 ?

Go...............

^^^

I'm with Tirediron here. 300 has been on my list since I started shooting. 2.8 of course.

I have the 300 and like it a lot. IQ is very good. It also has IS, which the 400 doesn't.

If you are going to be shooting sports, or wildlife for that matter, why not the old reliable 100-400mm IS USM L? Just because it is not the latest (and therefor the faddies poh pooh it) does not mean it is not up to anything you want to do in those two area. The wife and I have looked at and tried several primes, and even the newer telles, but we cannot find any that do any better than aur two 'goto' lens. the 100-400, and the 24-105 IS USM L. we have a 2.0 extender. BTW if you slap an extender on anything you had better have a tri-pod handy, or a monopod. We shoot wildlife, and birds, occasionally a landscape, and sports. We interchange them on a 6d, and a 7D. If you are a serious photographer, amateur or pro you know the value is matching the lens to your style, and not how much money you can spend on the latest, greatest.

Here's some examples of each, certainly not all are good, but many are, and one or two are great.
Sports; Picasa Web Albums - monte - Action & Sports
Birds and wildlife: Picasa Web Albums - monte - Our Bird pics...
Odds and ends: Picasa Web Albums - monte - Drop Box
here's an architecture done with the 24-105:
LTAJEUKVmOQvJ9RT1gF4T9MTjNZETYmyPJy0liipFm0