30d too much?

damianx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi everyone, this my first post (yay)

first some background info:
ok, so im planning (well,actually my parents) to buy a new dslr, since im turning 18 my parents decided to get me a present (a really big one i'd say),so they told me i could get a new camera.let me tell you im new to photography and im really interested in learning as much as i can (im taking photography in school so i know about shutter speed, iso and such)

so here's my question:

i really dont know if i should get a canon rebel 30d (1,499) it comes with a canon ef 28-135 f /3.5-5.6, or get a canon rebel xti (400d)

remember i wont be getting another camera until god knows when.....
so should i just go with the 30d or get the 400d?

thanks in advance.

well, depending on how far you plan on going with photography, i'd suggest the rebel if you're just doign it as a fun hobby, but if you want to get serious about it, maybe look at the 30d... a lot of people are really happy with the rebel, and the 30d is a great camera to, but it comes down to how you're going to be using it i guess... I dont know... anyone else have an opinion? lol

oh, i didnt realize the 30d had a full frame sensor, yea, i'd probably recommend that one then...

Welcome to the forum.

The EOS 30D is a good camera and so is the XTi. The XTi is slightly newer and has a 'better' sensor but the 30D is a bigger, more robust body. The feel of the camera and the layout of the controls is different. I suggest that you go to a store and hold them both...see which ones feel best to you.

It would probably be in your best interests to get the cheaper camera with a better lens. The 28-135 is an OK lens...but it is a bit long on these cameras. I suggest getting the standard kit lens (EF-S 18-55), or the EF-S 17-85 F3.5-5.6 IS.

i would definatly go with the 30d with the full frame sensor over the 400d