3rd year photography student, need help learning new stuff.

pyropenguin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everybody, I'm in my third year of photography at my school, and now my teacher is saying I can learn whatever I want, I just have to write out what I'm going to be doing and what my final product will be.

First I was planning on watching video podcasts about photography or photoshop, I can't find anything I don't know. What are some websites with tutorials on different techniques in photoshop for photographers besides the usual shadow/highlights, curves, channel mixer, color balance, masking, healing brushes, cloning tools, cropping and all that. Are there any tutorials past this point or am I on my own to experiment now?

Also, does anybody know anything about car photography here? I've started Autocrossing and have been really into photographing the race cars.

Thanks,
Kyle

btw, I shoot with a Nikon D50 and use CS2.

Edit:
Also, if you have any ideas on other things I could do to improve my photography, where I could create a final product to show my teacher, please post em!

Does it have to be digital? How about the zone system if you haven't already learned that or different types of lighting. Using tungsten film in daylight and vice versa. Digital is limiting to a point. Althought you can get close to the same results in Photoshop, there is nothing like a nice transparency. What about other formats of cameras. If you would tell us basically what you have learned we might be better able to answer.

It doesn't HAVE to be digital, but I'm really not interested in learning film right now.

I've experimented a bit with throwing off the white balance in the daylight to create blue colors. I pretty much understand the relationship between aperture and shutter speed to change the focal plane. I haven't really messed with lighting beyond adjusting the strength of the camera's flash.