7D or 70D?

harmonn2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm an aspiring photographer about go graduate college and hopefully find a career in the field within the next 6-9 months. Currently I only have a T3i, but I'm looking to upgrade. I would consider buying a full-frame 6D, but don't have the financial means to do so at the moment and buy the proper lenses to go with it. I shoot a variety of things, such as food, portraits (outdoor and studio), architecture, and I am looking to get into Sports photography as well. I would like to get your opinions on which one would be the best next step for my situation. If you need more information, please just tell me so.

7D or 70D ?
I will be very blunt and say neither, the 7D has exactly same sensor as does your T3i so low light performance and image quality will be same.
70D will give you a bit of better low light performance but still pretty poor dynamic range.
I would point you at the Canon T6S or T6i, from the initial info I saw its got a much more modern sensor, much better low light performance and about a full stop of extra dynamic range.

BTW just out of curiosity did you study photography in college ?

7D or 70D ?
I will be very blunt and say neither, the 7D has exactly same sensor as does your T3i so low light performance and image quality will be same.
70D will give you a bit of better low light performance but still pretty poor dynamic range.
I would point you at the Canon T6S or T6i, from the initial info I saw its got a much more modern sensor, much better low light performance and about a full stop of extra dynamic range.

BTW just out of curiosity did you study photography in college ?

I see, I haven't heard anything about the T6i, so I'll check into that. I was mainly looking to purchase a new camera because I have looked at several positions around the area, and a lot of them will not take on a photographer with an Entry-Level DSLR like the Rebel series by Canon.