A Beginner looking for Advise.

Karim786

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello Guys,

I am completely brand new to the world of photography but it has caught my interest and I am looking for suggestions as I will be investing into a camera and am hoping if someone can advise on a beginner camera. This will only be a hobby for the time being and I would love to take it a step further later on and start shooting few weddings and local events, but primarily this will only be hobby as I have a full-time job with which I am very happy with.

Which camera would you suggest will best suit my needs? I do have my cousin's wedding in August and am hoping to use my new camera. My budget is anywhere from $600-$1000 just for the camera and will invest into lenses later on. Also, which software is best to use when editing? I will be purchasing the software this week but looking for some recommendations as to which will be best.

Many Thanks to anyone that can help a noob out :).

Cheers,

Karim.

Any of the major brands have a good entry level dslr body in your price range. I personally lean towards Nikon. Although I do have a Canon DSLR. Right now I think the best camera for the money is from Pentax though, K20D. The pro's stick with Canon and Nikon because of such a huge selection of new lenses. That doesn't mean you can't shoot as a pro with Pentax. Just that's where the main pro users gravitate to.

Nikon and Pentax both easilly allow the use of their older autofocus and manual focusing lenses on their new cameras.

The best thing to do is go to a store and see which one feels good to you. Some of the cameras are smallish and may not feel comfortable. Or have small buttons, etc.

You, really can't go wrong with the 4 major brands. Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Sony (the old Minolta).

I should point out that Pentax has a slower, less sensitive autofocus than Nikon, Canon and Sony, which may or may not be an important issue for you.

skieur