a new lens? or a new camera?

shifra

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
d

Last edited:
For sharpness, good technics and a good lens are definitely more important than a new camera. I doubt you will see any differences in image sharpness between a XTi and a 40D. For ultimate optical quality look at prime lenses (non-zoom) such as a 50mm f1.4 (or the cheaper f1.8) or 85mm f1.8. Those 2 lenses are really good for portrait.

Thanks Steph, but wouldn't a non-zoom lens make the picture look like an average photo as opposed to the blurry background effect you get with a telephoto lens?

ps: where is the "manage attachments" button?

Forgive my noobishness, but I believe you can still achieve the bokeh you're looking for by adjusting the aperture. Isn't it the larger the aperture, the more blurry the background? I'm pretty new to this, so someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks Steph, but wouldn't a non-zoom lens make the picture look like an average photo as opposed to the blurry background effect you get with a telephoto lens?

A telephoto IS a non-zoom (fixed focal length) lens. In fact, the shallow depth-of-filed (blurry background) is more pronounced with telephoto lenses as compared to a normal lens or wide-angle lens.

Zoom lenses are variable focal length lenses.

-Pete

Forgive my noobishness, but I believe you can still achieve the bokeh you're looking for by adjusting the aperture. Isn't it the larger the aperture, the more blurry the background? I'm pretty new to this, so someone correct me if I'm wrong.

That's right.

Other factors that affect depth-of-field include the focal length of the lens and the distance from camera to subject.

Longer lenses afford less depth-of-field.
Focusing in close decreases the depth-of field.

-Pete