AHH! Where to begin...

bmrust

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.rust-media.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was out shooting some photos today (of a cruise ship) and a guy approached me and asked if I was a photographer. I am currently a student and I bought my first DSLR less than a month ago... I replied "I'm not a professional, but I'm trying to get experience so that I might be able to be professional someday" or something like that. I was trying to express that I am NOT a professional, but I am always looking to take on new things.

OK... so then he said that he was looking to get "portfolio" shots done. He talked about how he needed certain shots, some without a shirt, some (this is a DIRECT quote) "all shaved up".

He mentioned that other photographers quoted him $1000 to do the shoot.

I did not have any business cards on me (cause im a student, NOT professional), but I gave him my number and told him I would like to talk to him in more detail about what he needs. This was just today, so he has not called yet.

Finally, here's my questions...

1. What is a "portfolio" shoot typically? He seemed like a typical "surfer dude" who was probably trying to get into acting, or modeling.

2. Please see my list of gear below (note, no lights). Is there anything I should look into buying (if this goes anywhere), or even just renting, that I don't have.

3. What do I charge him, and what am I charging for? Of course it depends on what they want or need... but from what I've been reading, giving them a disc with all of the files on it is a BIG no-no. But being that I'm brand new to this, I'm really at a loss.

This might not grow into anything, but if it does, I would like to be a little more prepared when he calls.

Thanks to anyone with advice.

I would be weary of what he means by "all shaved up" .....