Am I doing something wrong???

sweetnothings123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have a question for everyone using Photoshop and RAW. How do I get it to save my images at their highest resolution and MB? I would like to save in jpeg, because that is the format used most when printing ... but when I do that they seem to be saving WAY smaller then the orginal RAW. (i.e., the orginial image is somewhere around 13MB (or somewhere around there) and when I compress it in Jpeg it can save anywhere between 1-8 MB ... and 1MB seems really low to me !!! I don't want to loose more information than I have to ... Any ideas? I'm still learning about RAW, so be nice :sexywink:

On your "Save As/Export" popup dialog box, depending on version, when you have selected JPEG, there will be a "Properties/JPEG Properties/Advanced Properties" tab or link, you can ajust quality and sizes in there.

Jpeg, even at its highest resolution, is still a lossy format. Save to tif or another loss-less format (or PSD, honestly, edit non-destructively), and save to jpeg only as the last step in the output process, when you're ready to post to the web or go to print. Think of jpeg like a copy and keep the original, or rather your working document, in a different format.

That is about average and normal. Realize too that the printer cannot handle or reproduce the amount of data represented in RAW so the information is not really lost to your print during the jpeg conversion, since it could not be processed by the printer in the first place.

skieur

Welcome to the forum :)

As mentioned, JPEG is a 'lossy' compression format. The reason it's so widely popular is because it makes files sizes smaller, and thus easier to transmit, work with and print.

If you want to keep your files at their highest quality, you should save them to TIFF or maybe PSD format. That way, you don't loose quality when you save.