An introduction from a long-time lurker.

MisledAmoeba

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone. I've been lurking for a couple of years and for some reason tonight it struck me that I should join in discussion.

I'm Tiffany, I'm 17, and I've been a hobbyist photographer for 5 years.

I'd really love to become a professional photographer. For the last few months I've been trying to get those initial jobs, and it's proving quite difficult. I have a couple of bands lined up, which I am quite excited about. However, musicians being how musicians are, I haven't been able to secure a date for the photo shoots. I've really enjoyed the process of taking someone's idea and coming up with a concept for a photo. I love being able to see the photo in my mind and pick apart how to go about taking it.

I guess I'm kind of old fashioned when it comes to photography. I prefer film to digital and dislike it when someones opts to digitally edit photos rather than learning ways to do effects manually. While I think that digitally edited photos can be really great, I don't really think of them as photographs; they're digital art. Wow, sorry... this is me now stepping off of the soapbox.

I should probably wrap this up.

I'm always up for talking about photography, so if anyone wants to chat, please feel free to email me!

Hi Tiffany, and very welcome to ThePhotoForum.
So you have been lurking for years?
I'm glad you finally decided to join in.
Feel free to join in on the discussions and to also show us some of your work.
I'm curious now ;).
As to what sort of photography is the "real" photography, there have been discussions going on and will be discussions going on. I for my part do both. Film and digital. And both ways have their rewards. Each in their own way.
But I remember that at the time I myself joined up here I was an "all-film-only" person, too ;).
Right. Warm welcome. Happy posting. See you! :)