Another first HDR thread, C&C please!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by markgentry, Jun 30, 2009.

1. markgentry

markgentry TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am still very new to this, have only recently gotten an entry-level DSLR. Any constructive criticism welcome!
    [​IMG]Send To Phone

Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  2. JamieR

JamieR TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I like the HDR in this photo, but for me it's just too busy. I find my eyes darting all over the photo.

3. Sachphotography

Sachphotography TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't see it as a HDR. looks like an over exposed nighttime shot.
    Sorry mate.....

4. markgentry

markgentry TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks so far! No need to be sorry...like I said, any/all constructive criticism welcome!

5. max3k

max3k TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    what is the subject? (im a n00b too)

6. Clawed

Clawed TPF Noob!

When I first saw this image, I didnt immediately think it WAS an HDR. And maybe that's a good thing. I would say that it does need a clear and definable subject though, as others have stated before. Could you post small images that you used to make this composite? How did you combine them, in Photomatix or just layer in Photoshop?

7. markgentry

markgentry TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    You're right, I do need a more definable subject. I was just going for a simple shot of the neighborhood, and liked what I saw compared to the original shots. I still have much to learn about this process. In all reality, I still have no clue what I'm doing...mostly guess work so far.

A couple of you have said it doesn't look much like an HDR...what are some definite characteristics of a nicely done HDR? I'm hoping to get some guidance in the right direction to hopefully get some impressive shots one day