Another first HDR thread, C&C please!

markgentry

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am still very new to this, have only recently gotten an entry-level DSLR. Any constructive criticism welcome!
3659253098_57dc263649_b.jpg
Send To Phone

Last edited:
I like the HDR in this photo, but for me it's just too busy. I find my eyes darting all over the photo.

I don't see it as a HDR. looks like an over exposed nighttime shot.
Sorry mate.....

Thanks so far! No need to be sorry...like I said, any/all constructive criticism welcome!

what is the subject? (im a n00b too)

When I first saw this image, I didnt immediately think it WAS an HDR. And maybe that's a good thing. I would say that it does need a clear and definable subject though, as others have stated before. Could you post small images that you used to make this composite? How did you combine them, in Photomatix or just layer in Photoshop?

You're right, I do need a more definable subject. I was just going for a simple shot of the neighborhood, and liked what I saw compared to the original shots. I still have much to learn about this process. In all reality, I still have no clue what I'm doing...mostly guess work so far.

A couple of you have said it doesn't look much like an HDR...what are some definite characteristics of a nicely done HDR? I'm hoping to get some guidance in the right direction to hopefully get some impressive shots one day

And the shots were combined in Photomatix and tweaked a bit more in Photoshop. Here are the shots used...feel free to suggest ways to improve.

IMG_0198.jpg

IMG_0200.jpg

IMG_0201.jpg

As you can see, I still have a lot to learn about settings as well. Guess that will only come through practice! Thanks again for any comments/advice, I would love to be able to produce shots like I've seen from some of your galleries one day!Send To Phone
Send To Phone
Send To Phone