Another "What Should I Do?" Thread....

mrpink

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Since upgrading the the D90, I have my "old" D40 sitting on the shelf. My options are:

1. Keep the D40 as a backup. I am not a pro by any means- so this sounds a little counter productive to me.

2. Sell the D40 and kit lens for around $350, put that towards a Sigma 10-20, or Nikon 10-24 ($200 more).

3. Sell the D40, kit lens, and 55-200mm VR for around $450-$500 and buy a used Nikon 18-200mm VR or new Sigma 18-200mm. Then start saving for a wide.

4. Something I am not thinking of (not really into macro at all right now)....

Right now, my photography is mainly of my family (mostly outdoors, but I hope to do some portraits soon)... but with warmer weather arriving; I plan on getting out hiking and doing more landscapes. I like the idea of adding the wide lens for a more creative look. The "all in one"-ness of the 18-200mm is very appealing as well, especially with a toddler.

p!nK

Trade me your D40 plus some $$$ for my Sigma 18-250 and you can keep your other 2 lenses, or sell them to recover the $$$ and be out virtually nothing, or ahead of the game.

Trade me your D40 plus some $$$ for my Sigma 18-250 and you can keep your other 2 lenses, or sell them to recover the $$$ and be out virtually nothing, or ahead of the game.

Good lens, I use it also.

I would pass on the 18-200 though, the sigma 18-250mm has great range and the IQ is up to par with Nikon's 18-200mm from what I've seen.

Maybe go with a sigma 70-200mm 2.8? You can get it for around $700

I think you would have fun shooting with the 10-20mm ultra wide angle too and it could be beneficial towards for your landscaping photography.

I think you would be happy with either the Nikon 18-200 or the Sigma 18-250mm though just because the versatility in length and coverage is so convenient.