Any DSLR cameras with an LCD Viewfinder?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Treymac, May 19, 2007.

1. Treymac

Treymac TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey guys, first post here. I'm new to photography and am just starting. I'm looking at getting an entry level DSLR camera, but that depends on if they have LCD viewfinders. I've really gotten used to using the LCD and can not stand looking through the regular viewfinder because I were glasses. I know that DSLR cameras used to not have LCD viewfinders, but I heard that a couple of years ago. Has there been any changes so that there are some cameras on the market with it? Thanks.

2. smyth

smyth TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    i believe the only ones that do are the Evolt line from Olympus.

If you don't like looking through the viewfinder with glasses however, many have a built in diopter (i believe that is the word) that will correct the image in the viewfinder for your eyesight.

3. Sw1tchFX

Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The Evolt E-330 is what you're looking for.

4. Zatodragon

Zatodragon TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    The Evolt has the live preview as well as Panasonic's DSLR. The only problem with live preview is each time you auto focus, i've heard the screen blanks off and takes a second longer to focus than when not in live preview mode.

So if you can get the diopter to work for ya, i would try that so you can really open up your range of cameras you can use. Plus, they have this handy gadget for you to use if you really have your heart set on an lcd view finder. http://www.zigview.co.uk/

Good Luck!

5. darich

darich TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Personally i prefer using the viewfinder to the screen but on the glasses and diopter thing - I wear glasses and tried adjusting the diopter to compensate when i removed by specs.