Any suggestions for a slow shutter speed at night shot

RumDaddy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I want to one of those headlight tracer shots. My new ball head just arrived so my tripod is back in action. Ive been wanting to do one of those night shots of a downtown area where the cars headlights leave tracers. Id post a example but dont want to break any copyright rules.

How ever Im sure a ton of you know exactly what Im talking about.

And hey, for you beginners this could or may be a fun experiment or personal assignment that could help you expand your knowledge of photography as well as your amount of unique images. So feel free to follow along and give it a whirl.

All we need now is someone SMRTer then us. Someone who is wise in the ways of photography to coach us newbies in the right direction. So someone please share one of these shots and give us a break down of what ya did or how ya did. Please and thanks.

I am a beginner right here with ya but these pictures interest me as well! I think after trying quite a few of these last night the best way to do it is using the bulb function so that you can get just the right beginning and ending of lights going by. The other side to this though is that you better have an extremely sturdy tripod, or use a remote because with my tripod, there is now way I can have a perfect "bulb" shot.

I got a few last night that I was happy with, doesn't mean they are good though. I love these pictures! I live in a small town so lots of cars is hard to find. I need to go to a city and find a good place to try it.

I'm down for some good knowledge as well :)

RumDaddy,

Set camera on shutter priority. Try a 30 second exposure at night. If you're shooting just past dusk, 1/16, 1/8 or 1/4 of a second depending on how much light is still available. Use a wireless shutter release or, at the least a cabled shutter release.

Good luck.

Post your results for us to see.