Are Vivitar lenses any good?

Axel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a Nikon N50 and am looking for additional lenses for it. I see that Vivitar lenses are rather cheap. Are they any good?

Like so many things, you get what you pay for.
If things are cheap then manufacturers have saved money somewhere.
Vivitar have been around a long time and have always produced good amateur lenses. If you start pushing them to their limits, however, you will start finding why they are cheap - but you might never put yourself in that position, so the situation might not arise.
My personal motto has always been 'buy the best you can afford and if you can't afford the best don't buy anything'. But that's just me. I found that as a pro I managed with four lenses - and two of those I rarely used. So I always ask people - why do you need another lens?
But as in everything the choice is yours. ;-)

Hertz van Rental said:
Like so many things, you get what you pay for.
If things are cheap then manufacturers have saved money somewhere.
Vivitar have been around a long time and have always produced good amateur lenses. If you start pushing them to their limits, however, you will start finding why they are cheap - but you might never put yourself in that position, so the situation might not arise.
My personal motto has always been 'buy the best you can afford and if you can't afford the best don't buy anything'. But that's just me. I found that as a pro I managed with four lenses - and two of those I rarely used. So I always ask people - why do you need another lens?
But as in everything the choice is yours. ;-)

The reason I want another lens is that I "only" have a Sigma 35-70 and would like to have more options (both distance and wide angle).

However, i agree with your motto!

I have a Vivitar 100-300 that I bought used. It's not great but it's not a total piece of crap either. The focus is slow & noisy & it's not all that sharp at 300mm but it wasn't very expensive.