Are You Color Blind????

smoke665

TPF Supporters
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A lot of the discussions on here deal with elusive white balance and color. I've wondered sometimes if I'm color blind LOL So, today, I heard about this technology to alleviate color blindness. Went to this site, and lo and behold they had a test for color blindness. Fortunately for me I passed. Here's the link for anyone who wants to take the challenge - EnChroma | Color For The Color Blind

Lol, back in the 1990s I used to work as a printer in a few photo labs. I remember at one point the manager at one lab got us all to do a colour blindness test and a couple of guys failed. But they were still really good printers regardless!

Last edited:
Confirming what I already knew:
Deutans are people with deuteranomaly, a type of red-green color blindness in which the green cone doesn’t detect enough green but is too sensitive to yellows, oranges, and reds.
As a result, greens, yellows, oranges, reds, and browns may appear similar, especially in low light. It can also be difficult to tell the difference between blues and purples, or pinks and grays.

Confirming what I already knew:
Deutans are people with deuteranomaly, a type of red-green color blindness in which the green cone doesn’t detect enough green but is too sensitive to yellows, oranges, and reds.
As a result, greens, yellows, oranges, reds, and browns may appear similar, especially in low light. It can also be difficult to tell the difference between blues and purples, or pinks and grays.

Yep, but the punctuation need a little clarification. ;) Some greens look yellow to us, orange can be a problem, we definitely can't tell between certain shades of brown and red, and some purples do look blue. You may think it a problem in colour photography, but it's not nearly as much of a problem as those who think their vision is absolute and that what they see is what it is.