Back to Basics!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Digital, Jul 7, 2010.

1. Digital

Digital TPF Noob!

I have been shooting with DSLR now for 5 years and im having no problems its all good. Though i have just gotten a job as a mobile photographer doing portriats though I was shocked to find out after getting the job that they use film slr!! I was very surprised but said nothing though I have never picked up a film camera before and cant get my head around it. Even though they said full training im feel out of depth not having slr experience.

I dont know how to find the perfect exposure on different scenes and all when I cant see what the result is like. The studio is two umbrella's with a white backdrop. Im really hoping its as simple as setting the camera to auto mode and using like a meter to adjust it with the flash and its set up. Thanks for your help

Last edited: Jul 7, 2010
  2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Using the auto mode while shooting a white backdrop, is a recipe for underexposure.

If you are using flash/strobes, then you should also have a flash meter. If you know how to use the meter, you should be getting accurate exposures.

3. Digital

Digital TPF Noob!

I can get my head around using the meter but what about different peoples clothes and there skin tone all the minor stuff. I seen the girl working and people were coming up to here, sat them down and few clicks and she is done? She didnt adjust anything or use any meter?

4. LCARSx32

LCARSx32 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I shoot laptops and tablet PCs for our home business using a light box and I rarely have to change the settings on the camera. When you have a controlled studio environment, the changes to your settings become fewer and farther between.

5. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit