Back to Basics!

Digital

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been shooting with DSLR now for 5 years and im having no problems its all good. Though i have just gotten a job as a mobile photographer doing portriats though I was shocked to find out after getting the job that they use film slr!! I was very surprised but said nothing though I have never picked up a film camera before and cant get my head around it. Even though they said full training im feel out of depth not having slr experience.

I dont know how to find the perfect exposure on different scenes and all when I cant see what the result is like. The studio is two umbrella's with a white backdrop. Im really hoping its as simple as setting the camera to auto mode and using like a meter to adjust it with the flash and its set up. Thanks for your help

Last edited:
Using the auto mode while shooting a white backdrop, is a recipe for underexposure.

If you are using flash/strobes, then you should also have a flash meter. If you know how to use the meter, you should be getting accurate exposures.

I can get my head around using the meter but what about different peoples clothes and there skin tone all the minor stuff. I seen the girl working and people were coming up to here, sat them down and few clicks and she is done? She didnt adjust anything or use any meter?

I shoot laptops and tablet PCs for our home business using a light box and I rarely have to change the settings on the camera. When you have a controlled studio environment, the changes to your settings become fewer and farther between.

The nice thing about a hand held meter, is that you can measure the light directly. If you set your exposure for that, you should be OK. The camera's meter is a 'Reflective' light meter, meaning that it changes depending on the reflectivity of the subject...which often requires you to compensate for the scene or subject you're shooting.