Back to School

mwilson263

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

My wife's clinic had a back to school themed party & potluck. I was asked if I would take some fun "back to school" photos. I'm fairly new at strobes/flash so was a bit unsure about the setup. They were thrilled with the pictures, and in general I'm fairly happy with the results, but know there's a lot of room for improvement.

There was a mix of individual and group shots. How do you manage the lighting for shooting both individuals and groups without moving things around? I felt that with groups the people on the ends seemed a bit hot. How did I do with the light setup in general (I didn't use the speedlight that is at camera left by the background). I would've liked better separation & definition between the background and subjects so maybe I should've used the speedlight.

I shot the pics with a 24-105mm lens at 60-100mm depending on the group size (this particular shot of the group was at 60mm), 1/125, F6.3, iso 100.

Would love to hear any CC or suggestions.

Thanks, Mike.
IMG_9769.jpg
IMG_9869.jpg

Not bad, and for the kit you used, quite respectable. A few thoughts for potential improvement: Bring your lights in a little closer and reduce the power to avoid the hot spots. When you have two rows of people in a small group, have those in the back lean forward to avoid either deep chin shadow we see on the gentleman with the yellow spectacles. Also, watch your reflections; The first few letters in the sign suffer badly from reflective glare; it's likely that changing the angle of the light on the right just slightly would have eliminated that. Also, watch your composition: You have lots of room image left, but you're cropped the right arm of the chap in the blue/grey shirt.

There's only a few lighting solutions good for individuals and groups.
Single very large circular softbox (about 60" or larger) above and slightly behind the camera.