Batch Resizing of Images In Photoshop?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Force of Nature, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. Force of Nature

    Force of Nature TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lancaster University(!), UK
    Hey guys,

    I have 100 pictures from various nights out at Uni and would like to resize them to a decent viewable size, without doing it one by one in photoshop which would be a boringly labourious task.

    Please can some one tell me what I have to do, Im sure its possible.

    thanks

    Paul
     
  2. Hertz van Rental

    Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    16,728
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Where am I now?
    Check your PM box ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Force of Nature

    Force of Nature TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lancaster University(!), UK
    Thanks so much mate, Perfect, theres also a search button i found after, and that provides the perfect info.
     
  4. bbaker35

    bbaker35 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Wait!! How do you do it? I've posted this question here before with no response!
     
  5. Hertz van Rental

    Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    16,728
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Where am I now?
    Check your PM box - it's amazing what the Board Fairy can do...

    I'll post it here as well.

    Batch Processing in PhotoShop:
    PhotoShop 4 introduced Batch Actions and it is implemented in all subsequent versions.

    Window>Actions
    will open the dialogue box.
    Having worked out exactly what to do
    Click 'create new action' at the bottom of the dialogue panel.
    Name the action and click 'record'.
    Do what adjustments you need to do on an image (you can do levels and colour balance and everything) and then click 'stop'.
    You have now got a sequence that PS will follow.
    To batch process:
    Create a new folder and put all the files you want to process in the folder. Set up another (empty) folder.
    Click on the Action you want to carry out in the Actions panel and choose Batch from the pop-up.
    You should get a Batch dialogue box. Choose the folder with the images in as Source. Choose the empty folder as Destination.
    Click OK and PS should just batch process everything.
    I use a Mac and I've just tried this and it works on a Mac. Can't guarantee on a PC so make a back-up of your images first.
     
  6. photogoddess

    photogoddess TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lala Land
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It's close enough for PC. Even I figured it out. ;) Just a note.... If you want your images to be evenly sized, split them into two folders. One for vertical shots and one for horizontal ones. Works like a charm! :mrgreen: Thanks Hertz!!! You just made my post processing WAY easier. :hugs:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

resizing batch of images in photoshop