Been doing it all wrong - what should I do?

BrentC

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Have you ever come to the conclusion that you have been doing something all wrong? I have in the last couple days. As you may or may not know I am very new to photography, about three months to be exact. Right from the beginning I have been using LR to import all my photos. So basically I have always worked with the raw files.
Learning new techniques as I have gone along. But what I have realized recently is that I have produced an awful lot of crap, over processed images. And if I just looked at the JOOC's I would have realized that in a lot of instances there wasn't much, if any editing that should be done. In too many cases I have just realized I made the images worse. Too over exposed, too much contrast, etc, etc. I had it my mind that I always need to 'give it some pop' (that dreaded word) making the image unrealistic. In doing so I realized I lost a lot of the sharpness in my bird photos. Returning to those images and comparing to the originals almost wants to make me cry because I realized all the work I put in was unnecessary and just little adjustment would have been fine.
At the beginning I could have made the excuse that the monitor I was using wasn't calibrated but the last month and a half I don't have that excuse. Although they are better still over processed in general.

Is this something a lot of newbies go through? I have to try and hold back to much editing and give the JOOC images a chance and not try to improve something that already looks good.

Yes. Everyone does experience this in some way with probably any task with a steep learning curve.

Good thing is you can just press " reset"! Because you did the right thing and non destructively edited i. Lr.

Nothing to worry about.