Beginner looking for advice

sidewalk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a complete beginner when it comes to photography, but have always felt attracted to it. I am planning on enrolling in some beginner classes at some schools here in NYC and was looking for some advice on which to choose.
The International Center of Photgraphy offers a B&W + Darkroom class, a Color + Darkroom class and a B&W + Color class (no darkroom). I just wanted to get some thoughts from anyone on here about the benefits and/or disadvantages to learning darkroom techniques and also whether or not it makes a significant difference in learning just B&W or just Color.
Also considering classes at NYU continuing ed., School of Visual Arts and New School. Anyone familiar with these?
Also looking for some advice on a manual camera. Have looked into the Nikon FM-10 and the Pentax ZX-M. Any other models that would work well for a complete beginner?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, and I'm looking forward to becoming part of the community and eventually helping out another beginner (ahhh, the circle of life).

Learn everything you can. I've been shooting digital for 5 years and I'm getting a degree in photography now. Every class I'm taking is solely film based. There's nothing like tangible contact with your film and prints to make you slow down and take your time composing and shooting. Take B&W and Color. Take as many classes as you can. The more hands on experience you get with photography, and really, the more photos you take and develop, and print, the better off you'll be.

As for cameras, any film camera that allows for manual focus and manual exposure will do. If you plan to continue on with photography, you'll need to keep with the system of lenses that go with whatever camera you've bought because switching systems can get expensive.