Best photo editing software?

Nickanoor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well, while reading Scott Kelby's Digital Photography, he talks a lot about Adobe Photoshop to sharpen images, add color schemes, etc. If I want a really good editing software, should I go for that or something else? What do you use? Thanks!

I use Aperture 3(apple guy) and Adobe Photoshop CS4

Photoshop CS5. Not only is it the best, its the industry standard, so you are going to find much more help online and many more educational sources to help. However, it does take a long time to get up to speed with it. If you want to just do quick adjustments and crops, go with lightroom and save some cash. If you want the most possible control you could have over editing your pictures, go with Photoshop CS5.

Cool, so PS is probably a good thing to have right? I'm sure he'll tell me more about it in the book, but what do you mostly need to do with each photo? I know it depends on the photo, I'm just new to this. lol

Kelby goes into good detail about the standard PP workflow. For me, it typically consists of exposure adjustment, color balancing, cropping, and maybe some sharpening.

By the way, if you're a student see if you can buy PS at academic pricing. It's way cheaper than the standard rate and for future reference, buy when the new version is coming out. I was able to buy CS4 at 30% off the already cheap academic rate and get a free upgrade to CS5, and yes, I got separate licenses for each!

PS has a pretty good sized learning curve. My suggestion is download a trial of each and try them out. Gimp, PS, PSE (PSE is the downsized version of PS.), Lightroom etc. Don't take just a few suggestions, do a lot of research. Some of these are expensive and some are free that give similiar results.