Bigger sensor or faster glass?

Cyay918

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am still learning so bear with me. I have done nothing but study the past two days LOL. I am planning to make my first enthusiast camera purchase soon.

Daylight is pretty easy and I'm not thinking about depth of field just yet. But let's say I was at Symphony or even something like a Broadway live action play. Somewhere that you are sitting in the dark but you are focusing on a lighted subject using a telescopic lens

Would it be better to spend $1,000 on an ASP-C sensor with a cheaper lens, or would I be better off buying a $500 mft sensor body and put the remainder of the money into a better lens?

I know both of them come into play, but I am assuming that one of them would have more impact than the other.

Probably you would do better with the bigger sensor in terms of flexibility and overall performance.

But let's say I was at Symphony or even something like a Broadway live action play. Somewhere that you are sitting in the dark but you are focusing on a lighted subject using a telescopic lens
How often are you doing that? If you're trying to plan for that one time you may possibly use it in this situation, then don't buy a camera for that situation. But, if you're planning on taking pictures in this type of situation regularly, it's more important that you buy a camera suited for this situation. So, how often do you realistically anticipate being in this situation?

What type of photography do you mainly do, or want to do?