Bird is 70 feet in tree.. picture is level .. wtf.. and how.. lol

random2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to trying to catch pics of birds.. but looking at the pros work, i notice the pics are level.. do they climb trees etc.. I'm just getting a kick out of this.. It's not easy obviously..

Do you mean something like this?

_MG_9922.jpg

I use props. :)

They will come down out of the trees to eat and bathe. Now you know what you have to do. BTW, if you get on a house's roof, the birds may be curious and come close to investigate.

It depends greatly on the photographer and the bird as well as the shooting environment and the gear to hand.

1) Remember that when you look at a pros portfolio online or in a book you are seeing a tiny (and I mean tiny) selection of their shots - there will be countless thousands which have been dropped for big and small reasons; they will have good days and bad days. So firstly never think that they will get the shot they want in every possible situation - they have limits too they just don't tend to show them as much

2) range and quality at range - if you have a high quality long range lens you can shoot from further back which means more chances for using a higher hide, a hill, a tree and also the effect of shooting from further off which will reduce the angle at which the photographer has to shoot ( thus giving a more in line with the bird image)

3) Hides, lures, feeding stations and squirrels - feeding stations and other luring methods are very often used to bring an animal into a semi controled area. That means you can bring the bird lower and get those lower angle shots that you would not have been able to do before. These can be simple of complex setups and rely on understanding the species you are attempting to photograph (or at least the general aspects of the species you would possibly like to attract).