cables for vivitar and triggers

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by anel, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. anel

    anel TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, is it possible to buy a cable that will connect my vivitar 285HV and the ebay triggers? i always put the flash directly on the trigger but i want a cable connecting them so i can put the flash itself on a stand and not the trigger.
     
  2. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Did your flash come with the cable? Mine did.
     
  3. Mike_E

    Mike_E No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,327
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Do you mean a PC to PC cable?

    Sure, check your local photo store or even ebay.
     
  4. ghache

    ghache TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    295
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    my vivitars came with cables,
    i use them on my 301p but without the cables.
     
  5. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  6. ghache

    ghache TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    295
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit

    you are right,

    my flashs came with vivitar proprietary connection to PC,
    its a small pin connector
     
  7. anel

    anel TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    my vivitar did not come with the cable. i do have the cable that came with my ebay triggers though.. it's just that one end doesn't fit in the vivitar of course. as i see it, i need this cable?

    [​IMG]

    what is this cable called exactly? or at least the end of it that fits into the vivitar? is it similar to something i can buy in an local electricity store?
     
  8. anel

    anel TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'd suggest avoiding having to use a PC connection, unless you go to the screw-lock version. It's just not a great connection in my experience.

    The cord I linked to above, FlashZebra.com: Vivitar to Inexpensive Radio Slave Adapter Cable (Item #0029), plugs into the Vivitar and has a female 1/4 'phone' socket. So then you can just use a standard 1/4 plug (probably included with any trigger set).
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

flashzebra slaves for vivitar 285hv

,

vivitar 285hv cables