Camera Indecision Dilemma

yellowhairtie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey I was wondering if someone would please help me out by giving me some advice. I would like to start taking pictures with a good camera. I am not sure what would be better as I don't know a great deal about them. Should I get a camera camera or a high end digital camera. I have a digital already but its no prize :p and I'd like to take pictures with a good camera and I'm sure with time and after reading about it I'll be able to use it properly, etc. It doesn't matter how much it costs but I just need to know what Brand/Kind is best and Digital/Non. If someone could get back to me that would be awesome! :) Thank you.

i know it´s a personal opinion, and besides i am not an expert at all on different types of camera, but i would go for a second hand manual focus SLR (maybe Nikon?), you can get a good equipment for not so much cash, and will learn (you will have to) a great deal about photography

It really depends on what you want. I too have a digital camera and recently bought an older 35mm camera. I'm partial to SLR Nikon manual film cameras (i.e. F2A, F2AS, F3HP, etc.). If you go this route, don't skimp on lenses. Instead of 3 or 4 cheaper questionable condition lenses I would rather have 1 higher priced high-quality lens. Lots of "stuff" on eBay regarding older equipment. My .02 pesos...

yellowhairtie said:
It doesn't matter how much it costs

Check this out
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0409/04092902mamiya_zd.asp

You can't expect anyone to give you any useful advice unless you are more specific. What is your price range? What kind of photography are you involved in? Do you need the durability of a pro body & lenses?

Both Film & Digital cameras have their advantages and disadvantages. It's hard to say which is better.

Let us know more about what you want and we can give you better advice.

Big Mike said:
yellowhairtie said:
It doesn't matter how much it costs

Check this out