Camera Shake

phoenix83

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi I am a new photographer still learning the basics somewhat, my question is how can I reduce camera shake without using a tripod while shooting portrait shots on location on the go. I shoot with with a canon XTI and have noticed when trying to shoot faster around my subject most shots come out blurry my lens is the canon 28-90 but is not equiped with IS

IMG_2218.jpg

Make your shutter faster (125 min for subjects like babys)
Make your ISO higher (800, 1600 for night)
Open your shutter more (low aperature of f 2.8, 3.5, 5.6 etc)

If I open my shutter more will i still blur the background or will it all come more clear sorry bout not knowing ahead of time

Your EXIF data (thanks for posting a photo! :))

Camera Make: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XTi
Image Date: 2008:05:25 09:09:44
Flash Used: No
Focal Length: 90.0mm
Exposure Time: 0.077 s (1/13)

Aperture: f/11.0
ISO equiv: 100
Exposure: aperture priority (semi-auto)
Basically that's way too slow of a shutter speed to be able to handhold a shot without hand shake blur at 90mm. The reciprocal rule says you'll generally need at least "1/focal length" for your shutter speed, so about 1/90s in this case. For portraits feel free to shoot the lens wide open at f/5.6. That's two stops and would take you up to about 1/60s, still a bit slow. Next you crank up the ISO by 1 or 2 stops to either 200 or 400. That'll get you to either 1/125s or 1/250s, both of which should be plenty for hand holding ability and for a subject that's posing and knows to hold still.

i was gonna say lay off the mountain dew and starbucks. :p however the two previous posts nailed it on the head.

open up the aperture, increase the iso, remember the lens speed against your focal length rule, also with ISO, be make sure you don't have a lot of noise.

and........ a lil flash never hurt.

hope this helped.