Can Anyone Help This Newbie...Questions

HorsesHorsesHorses

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I hope I am posting this in the correct place. I am brand new to the world of photography and I am having a bit of difficulty. I bought a Nikon D70 in the fall of 2005. I started taking picture immediately and was absolutely thrilled with the quality. I have read through some of the manual and have also read through Photography For Dummies trying to learn and answer my own questions.

I started playing with the settings (nothing extreme as I'm still learning....did I mention reading the manual is like reading gibberish;)). My pictures started coming out really grainy. I tried to change the settings again and still got the same result. I finally just reset everything to the default settings. My pictures were clear again but now I am back to getting grainy shots even after I have reset the settings. I have no idea what in the world I am doing wrong. I have tried changing the ISO settings and have used several different settings (i.e. landscape, portrait, etc.). I have searched the manual and my book for dummies and I'm still at a total loss. I have attached a couple of pictures to help show what I am talking about.

I also have a question that has been plaguing me. I don't know what number to put the ISO setting at and for what conditions.

My main subjects are horses. I love to catch the action shots, does anyone have any recommendations for settings?

Please keep in mind I am very new, if you could put it in the simplest of terms I would be grateful:blushing:.

Thank you in advance!

Clear Picture (I'm sorry I can't remember what settins I had this at)
ClearPicture.jpg

The next two are the grainy images I am getting (the last one was just taken today at dusk on the landscape setting and ISO at 200).

GrainyPicture.jpg

GrainyPicture-1.jpg

ADDED:

This is a picture that shows quite a bit of grain to the picture
SabhiaHead-4.jpg