Can I edit CR2 using GIMP?

Jacki

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just started shooting in RAW format. For all my jpeg pictures, I use GIMP to edit. Buying photoshop or anything like that is not an option right now.

Anyway, I have the Canon Zoombrowser that lets you view and do limited editing on CR2 files, but I want to transfer the image to GIMP and edit it before I jpeg it. So, I opened my test RAW image in Zoombrowser, developed the RAW image, and then clicked the option to edit with an external image editor, choosing GIMP as my editor. I then get this pop up message: "TIFF IMAGE MESSAGE: Cannot handle zero number of strips." Another "Import from tiff" box pops up, asking me if I want to open as layers or images. If I click import on this box, the image shows up in GIMP...but did I do this right?

I know there are a couple of plugins you can get that let you edit RAW in GIMP, but I figured I already have zoombrowser, why get more RAW file readers? I was hoping to make these two work together if possible.

So, in case that didn't make sense, my main question here is: For those of you who edit you RAW files in GIMP, could you walk me through how to do it. Please? :blushing:

I think you need to think about RAW files a little differently. RAW (.CR2 in your case) isn't really an image format. It's just a bunch of 'un-cooked' data from the camera. You can see/preview the image, but that is just an embedded JPEG, not the actual image file.

When you open a RAW file, in Zoombrowser for example, you can make adjustment and so on. But to take it further, it needs to be 'cooked' (converted into an actual image file). It seems like the default is TIFF format.