Canon 700D questions.

khrisxtine

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi Everyone, From this post, you'll be able to tell I'm a complete newbie.. But was hoping I'm posting this in the correct place - if not, please forgive me and point me in the right direction!

I just got the Canon 700d/T5i for Christmas. I am trying to test it out right now.. But I noticed the LCD sometimes turns off.. For the life of me cannot find it in the manual or troubleshooting..

I also made sure to disable auto shut off, but nothing? It works just fine and then it just shuts off.. and when it shuts off - i'm unable to press anything on it to make the lcd turn on again. The camera however is on, because i'll tap the screen and hear noises and when I press the little camera icon button, it makes a shutter noise.. So i'm not sure if my camera is broken, or I truly just don't know how to use it :lmao::lol:

You may have the lens cap on it. You also may have it in live view pointing at something black.

Oh - and welcome to TPF!

You may have the lens cap on it. You also may have it in live view pointing at something black.

Oh - and welcome to TPF!

Thanks for the warm welcome!

I for sure have the lens cap off as I was just looking at the object I wad going to shoot and it just turned off and I couldn't get it to turn back on, to even look at the settings.

Welcome to the site. Go to the menu and look for the auto power off and see what it is set to. If it is at 30 seconds, then change it, that is what is causing it.

When you press that "little camera icon" you're activating live view mode.

Sometimes, LCD screens may stand idle after a certain amount of time to save battery life.
Try depressing the shutter and see if the LCD screen appears. (Press the shutter slightly half way down but not completely)

Try taking a video of the incident and post it.
That way we can hep you futher.r

Thanks everyone for the replies!