Canon AE-1

ygb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I just got my birthday present - canon AE-1.
I think my husband had decided to help me to develop better skills with setting proper exposure. I am not very friendly with light meters, I almost always tweak settings base on histogram of the test image. It also would be nice to get away from auto focus. I've been feeling very confined by focus points and had been thinking to try shooting more with manual focus.
However, my first thought was: "oh no! no more Photoshop". I am by no means a pro when it comes to photoshop, but I do like the ability to make some tweaks to the photos, especially in black and white conversion. I know, there are ways to do post processing in darkroom, but I wouldnt even know where to start.
Would you guys have any suggestions on the best way for me to get acquainted with film? should I start with color or black and white? I suppose color is better, for black and white I will need filters at least to avoid very flat photos.
Does anyone know what kind of metering method the camera uses? I found the original manual, but it wasn't very helpful. It seems that meter works in shutter priority. Is it still metering to mid grey? There are seem to be some auto mode ( for setting apperture), but I couldn't figure it out. To me it seems that camera is in complete manual mode - manual shutter selection and then set aperture manually as well.
Anyway, I'd appreciate any help. I am definitely a bit intimidated by it:)

What attracts you to film in DSLR world?

Yuliya