Canon Elan IIE

bk4

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I am totally new to photography, and I wanted to take up film because i think that it is a medium that most people are starting to move away from. My budget is limited and I was looking to get a Canan Elan IIe. Just wondering about the pros and cons of this camera, or if there are any other cameras that i should look into getting. Also, what lens would you suggest for this camera?

Thanks in advance,
bk4

Welcome to the forum.

The Elan series is great. Some very good cameras at decent prices. The Elan II is pretty old, it has been superseded by the Elan 7 and the Elan 7n. Any of the models are avaliable with 'e' which is 'eye controlled focus'. A neat feature that some people like and some people hate. You can turn it off, if you don't like it...so don't worry about it.

I can't think of any cons with the Elan cameras. They aren't as good as the higher series cameras and they are better than the lower series cameras. The Elan cameras are fairly robust and have the great thumb wheel, which the lower cameras don't have.

A better camera might be the EOS 3 or any of the EOS 1 series bodies. A more affordable model would probably be any of the various Rebel models.

Really, a film camera is just a box to hold the film and the lens...so you could learn photography with any camera...even an old manual focus camera from the 60s or 70s.

As for lenses, there are so many, it's hard to suggest one without knowing more. A quick & easy suggestion is the EF 50mm F1.8. It's cheap but optically quite good. It's not a zoom lens, but many people will tell you that it's better to learn without a zoom lens.