Canon Powershot G10?

echodeluxe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello!

i shoot film right now, but i was interested in moving into digital as well. i have little to no experience in the digital realm, and id like so advice about the Canon Powershot G10.

now, all the kids love to go out and spend their parents money on a brand new Nikon D90 or Canon EOS or something, but i dont know if i'm ready to drop the coin necessary for a full out dSLR.

my friend has a Canon G10 and im very impressed. the picture quality is great, it shoots in RAW, the controls are very intuitive, and apparently you can get an adapter and mount different lenses! neato!

well, like i said, im a dummy when it comes to digital photography, so any advice is welcome. anyone here use the Canon Poweshot series? love/hate?

could someone recommend me a dSLR for a beginner like myself, if not the Powershot G10?

thanks!

Seeing as the powershot is 400-500$ (correct me if im wrong) I would just move straight to a D40, D60, D3000 or a Rebel series. These days that level of DSLR is as easy to use as a point and shoot.

You will probally want to upgrade right after you buy a powershot G10.

Christopher,
G9, 10, and G11 are more in b/n P&S and SLRs. It has its advantages of not being big, shooting RAWs but being that it is a P&S it has its limitations nonetheless.

Seeing as the powershot is 400-500$ (correct me if im wrong) I would just move straight to a D40, D60, D3000 or a Rebel series. These days that level of DSLR is as easy to use as a point and shoot.
Agree!

IF you're shooting film and on another thread you said that you're working on associated in photography, you know what the heck you're doing. THUS, either stick to film slr and enjoy the classics or go digital slr and enjoy the view. :thumbup:

Let me help you

Nikon
Digital SLR Cameras from Nikon

Canon http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ProductCatIndexAct&fcategoryid=111