Cleaing the camera (sensor/lens)

Crimsonandwhite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Can I get a quick break down from some of the vets on cleaning procedures?

What to make sure I do and what to make sure I do not do :)

Thanks

I am no pro but I hear them saying it all the time.
-DO NOT use compressed air on sensor!!!
-I dont remember what its called but its a rubber thing you squeese and it pushes out air, use that on sensor, do a search for what its called...
-For lenses, use microfiber cloth, gently rub in circular motions

That's right. Compressed air will often have either condensation or some sort of propellant in it, so you don't want to use that for cleaning the sensor. Also, the shutter and the mirror assembly are a bit fragile so you want to be careful with them.

A simple way to lightly clean the sensor is to use a bulb blower...the 'rocket' type are some of the best. Simply activate the sensor cleaning mode and hold the open front of the camera downward while blowing some air into it.

You could also use a 'sensor brush'...something like the Arctic Butterfly.

If there are spots of dust that won't come off, you may need to do a wet cleaning. You will need somthing like sensor swabs and some cleaning fluid. Google sensor cleaning for more info.

When you use the Giotto Rocket, make sure you puff it out a few times before you blow it into your camera. I got some dust in mine somehow and blew dust all over everything -- had to bring the camera in for a professional cleaning ($45 at my local camera shop).

Sensor repair/replacement is EXPENSIVE! Be careful!

Good point on the use (or rather non-use) of compressed air in any form, and as was mentioned, the Giottos rocket is ideal, particularily the new version with the angled nozzle.