Complete newbie need advice on DSLR selection

timfrommass

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a complete photography newbie, let me start out with that haha. I bought a Sony H10 P&S a few months ago which seemed like a pretty good quality camera for that type. It's done really well and I like a lot of the options and stuff. The pictures come out pretty good too if I say so. I wanted to get something a bit more basic to start, because I was thinking getting into photography as a hobby but wasn't sure if it was something I'd enjoy enough to invest a lot of money into. I went on a rafting trip last week, and I have a friend who's not really into photography either who came with who has a Sony DSLR (nothing high end I don't remember which one) that he got a great deal on through work. His pictures come out amazing!

We've both been talking about maybe taking a class, so now I'm thinking about getting a DSLR. I just don't know enough right now to make an informed decision. What kind of things should I be looking for? What technology or terms should I read up on, and where is a good source for that info?

My father was big into photography when he was younger and has an old Nikon film SLR so he's very partial to the Nikon brand. He also has a few good old lenses that he doesn't use, which could be good for me because I believe they are compatible with the new DSLRs? If this is the case I would surely want to lean towards a Nikon, because I know quality lenses make all the difference and that would save me some $$$.

Well I hope this wasn't too much rambling, or to vague. Thanks in advance for any advice you guys give.

-tim

Get a D90 :)

It will work with your older lenses and also (of course) the newer ones as well. It will give you lots of room to grow plus it has excellent low light performance not to mention video to boot.

Last edited:
Bring those nice Nikon lenses to a good camera store and see how they work with the newer cameras.