Confused about aperture and depth of field

droad

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I’m new to the DSLR world having made the leap from a point/shoot (Nikon S9100) to a Nikon D5300. I’ve been experimenting with various ISO, aperture, and shutter speed settings to see the effect of each on a similar photo setup. I have a question on the aperture front. I clearly can see the impact to depth of field when I use a large aperture (less of the photo is in sharp focus). My thought was using a smaller aperture would always result in a longer depth of field resulting in more of the photo being in sharp focus. I generally use the Nikon 18-140 kit lens. The lens will do stops at 18mm from f/3.5-22 and at 14mm f/5.6-38. What I’m finding is that once I get to apertures smaller that f/8-13 my images are less sharp. That seems counter to “smaller apertures providing great depth of field”. Am I getting introduced to diffraction or is there some other magic about smaller apertures that I need to learn about? Said differently is there a general rule of thumb that f/8-11 is all you need for good depth of field for normal landscape photos?

Once you stop down a lens (decrease the aperture) beyond a certain point, depending on how much light is available, you start running into diffraction. I don't do much with landscapes myself, I'm sure there's a lot of landscape shooters here abouts that can probably give you better advice than I can on that topic - but in general I've found that apertures somewhere in the F8-F11 range usually work pretty well.

Last edited:
For landscapes (which is what I mostly do) I use F/5.6 to F/11. That gives me a good compromise between the lens' 'sweet spot' and a good depth of field. The actual aperture will depend on light conditions on the day, of course,